“I spend the afternoon in cars, I sit in traffic jams for hours, don’t push me I am not ok”, those are the opening lyrics to the song called “Jumpers” off of their brilliant album called “The Woods”. Sleater-Kinney came onto the music scene back in ’94. They have maintained an independent and underground career ever since. Though they aren’t know to everyone, Sleater-Kinney is one of those bands that you need to find on your own, for their sound to really make an impact.

Sleater-Kinney - Album "The Woods" (2005)

As of late, I spend some time going through my music collection, and as I was looking through, I rediscovered one of the most raw and exiting records I am proud to own, called “The Woods”. This album is dark and loud. There are two songs from this record, that I would like to point out, “Entertain” and “Jumpers”. These two songs are brilliant. The lyrical content, in conjunction with the music, really sends a powerful message. Although we can all interpret music in many ways,  “Jumpers” for me, is about alienation in society, not feeling connected with such reality, and “Entertain” paints a picture on how, society has been zombified into the entertainment culture we have become.

“So you want to be entertained?
Please look away
We’re not here ’cause we want to entertain
Please go away (don’t go away)
Reality is the new fiction, they say
Truth is truer in these days, truth is man-made
If you’re here cause you want to be entertained
Please go away”

The way reality is the new fiction these days in which is all man made, just to be entertained, I think it really sends out a powerful message. It makes me want to scream. “Entertain” captures a moment perfectly. “The Woods” will forever be that album in which, a very distinct and primal feeling overwhelms me, when I listen to it.

To the girls of Sleater-Kinney (Janet Weiss, Corin Tucker and Carrie Browstein), thank you for making such a great record.

“Entertain” by Sleater-Kinney – Album “The Woods

“Jumpers” by Sleater-Kinney – Album “The Woods”

Like/Dislike? Leave a Comment.

