I was drawn to the Alternative Rock scene that was exploding in the early 90’s, like a moth is attracted to light. I remember staying up late on school nights, just to watch 120 Minutes and Alternative Nation with VJ host Kennedy (which by the way, she was the best VJ on MTV) which for me, was the highlight of my day.

I remember one night, a video came on that I had never seen before. It looked like a homemade video of some guy, just standing on a dirt road, but, I couldn’t see his face, it was blurred out of focus. A few seconds into the video, this weird twangy guitar melody starts playing, soon after this funky drum beat. A coffin rolls on by, and, I’m starting to get the goosebumps you get when you know something good is about to happen. They focus on the guy now walking, he takes off this blurry helmet, and the first lyrics I hear him sing are “In the time of chimpanzees I was a monkey, Butane in my veins so I’m out to cut the junkie” and I’m like “Shit…this is awesome”. By the end of the video I was blown away. I mean come on, with a chorus like “Soy un perdedor, I’m a loser baby, so why don’t you kill me (Double-barrel buckshot)”, its genius. From that day forward, I’ve been a fan of Beck.

Over the years, Beck has expanded his sound, in which he can call his own. I’ve continued to be a fan of his work, not only because I can relate to it, but because he does what he believes in. He has never gone out of his way, to be called or to be considered a “rock star”. He is who he is, and I respect that. Going up and seeing such a musical evolution, it creates a place of its own. As long as he continues to push his music and ideals forward, I will be right there with him.

“Loser” – Album “Mellow Gold

“Where It’s At” – Album “Odelay”

“Devil’s Haircut” – Album “Odelay”

“Youthless” – Album “Modern Guilt

Beck has some really good music videos to watch, if you are interested in watching more, check out his YouTube channel by clicking here.

Albums:

  • Golden Feelings (1993)
  • Stereopathetic Soulmanure (1994)
  • Mellow Gold (1994)
  • One Foot in the Grave (1994)
  • Odelay (1996)
  • Mutations (1998)
  • Midnite Vultures (1999)
  • Sea Change (2002)
  • Guero (2005)
  • The Information (2006)
  • Modern Guilt (2008)
Like/Dislike? Leave a Comment.

